Tag Archives: YA literature

At least we know it wasn’t aliens. Or Goliath. Did anyone else immediately think of Scott Westerfeld’s Goliath when they saw the headlines about the crater in Siberia? Or do I just read so much that sometimes it feels like … Continue reading

Link | Posted on by | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Reading is not an option

“Reading is not an option” was his platform as YA literature ambassador, and he once told School Library Journal, “As a young man, I saw families prosper without reading, because there were always sufficient opportunities for willing workers who could … Continue reading

Quote | Posted on by | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

What to read when TFIOS is checked out . . .

historyhobbit: Books for the wait list blues. #tifios #teens #bookdisplay this is so  needed in our library! how about yours???

Image | Posted on by | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Just One Night

xoxopimpimxoxo: JUST ONE NIGHT (JUST ONE DAY 2.5) by GAYLE FORMAN This novella is such a delight. Fans of Willem & Allyson will sure love this book and it is also the perfect closure to a whirlwind journey of both … Continue reading

Image | Posted on by | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Oh, the possibilities!

#weneeddiversebooks

Image | Posted on by | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

weneeddiversebooks: Recently, there’s been a groundswell of discontent over the lack of diversity in children’s literature. The issue is being picked up by news outlets like these two pieces in the NYT, CNN, EW, and many more. But while we … Continue reading

Link | Posted on by | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Starry Book Suggestions

mollyiswrappedupinbooks: lawrencepubliclibrary: There are so many *stars* on the YA shelves! Read about these titles at YALSA’s The Hub! These are all available at Lawrence Public Library, so you can check one out today. I made this list of starry … Continue reading

Image | Posted on by | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Whimsical Storytelling

This gallery contains 5 photos.

gobookyourself: Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell Congratulations to Katherine Rundell, winner of the 2014 Waterstones Children’s Book Prize! For more whimsical storytelling, try these next… When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead for proper old-fashioned storytelling mixed with a healthy helping of … Continue reading

Gallery | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Earth Day Book Display: Love It or Lose It

historyhobbit: Happy “shape up or the earth gets it” day display. HistoryHobbit’s “Love It or Lose It’ YA display for Earth Day … love it!!!!

Image | Posted on by | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Strong Heroines

This gallery contains 5 photos.

gobookyourself: The Song of the Lioness by Tamora Pierce For more epic young adult fantasy with female leads, try these… His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman for an iconic series and heroine Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor … Continue reading

Gallery | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment