abcofreading:

Waking to Consciousness with the Word: Reading to Children

…though “books” first entered my world on the breath of my sweet mother, I soon went on to hold them, and absorb the rest of what they were: entities, all but with souls of their own. Books, things made by hands, containing, like birds, songs and spirits, put into my lap so early, became everything to me.

In a way, since I encountered them, I live at one remove from the real world, or what passes for the real world. Thus, in place of fully inhabiting one real world, I have consciously gained entry into worlds without number.

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

