missrumphiusproject:

catchingthetradewinds:

Miss Rumphius by Barbary Cooney

“‘When I grow up,’ I tell her, ‘I too will go to faraway places and come home to live by the sea.’

‘That is all very well, little Alice,’ says my aunt, ‘but there is a third thing you must do.’

‘What is that?’ I ask.

‘You must do something to make the world more beautiful.’

‘All right,’ I say.

But I do not know yet what that can be.”

Yes, there is a copy of this book on my desk, always, obviously.

lupins, lupins everywhere … . even in my front yard!

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

