The Rights of Readers (part 1)

I’ve just finished reading The Gifted Kids Survival Guide and it includes a “Gifted Reader’s Bill of Rights.” Many of the “rights” apply to all readers and others to avid readers. Here are some of them:

I have the right to read at a pace and level that matches my ability, no matter what grade I’m in. (I recall when my oldest child was in first grade, he was not allowed to check out a chapter book until the teacher had had the opportunity to assess his skill — several weeks after school had begun.)

I have the right to reread many books and not finish every book I start. (love this one –see my earlier post on the joy of re-reading!)

I have the right to use reading to explore new and challenging information and to grow intellectually.

I have the right to learn advanced vocabulary and literary concepts. (I had a discussion with my seven year old about the distinction between science fiction, fantasy and fairy tales just the other day. It’s not too early to introduce these concepts.)

I have the right to be guided toward the best literature, rather than be told what I must read. (Love the use of the term guided here.)

I have the right to read several books at the same time. (My son usually has a book by his bed, one downstairs, one in the car, one in his backpack, one at school . . . )

from The Gifted Kids’ Survival Guide by Judy Galbraith (free spirit publishing, 2009, p. 105)

This entry was posted in reading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

